View or search for all towns »

internet service in Rossland

We're moving to Rossland and need input on the best internet service provider. I've heard that high speed internet in the area has challenges, input on which provider(s) is the best and which to avoid appreciated.

I'm no expert.. hopefully somebody who is will chime in, but as far as I know your choices are Shaw Cable or Telus. When I started with Telus I wanted the Optik bundle because it came with a free laptop... but we don't have optic here.  Then I moved from lower to upper Rossland and had to downgrade from High Speed to High Speed Lite because I was told we don't have a high speed hub. I can't even watch Netflix because the sound gets ahead of the picture.

Not sure what other people have experienced, but we're kind of stuck with what we have. Telus is cheaper of the two.

Shaw is half decent here.  Telus I find likes to screw people around.  

I agree with prensen.  Shaw is half decent.  Telus is reknown for nasty customer 'service'.  Shaw provides incentive loyalty packages too.  We had to spend a frequent amount of time away from our home base and decided it was pointless having internet.  They offered a good package.  No problems with the Netflix.  I don't know about cable, we ony used internet.

The Columbia Basin Broadcasting Coorporation recently brought fiberoptic into Rossland. I'm not sure if it's being offered to residents yet...but it wont hurt to ask. The three internet service providers on fiber optic are:

1) Columbia Networks - 1 888 527 0540

2) Columbia Wireless - 1 250 505 4041

3) Secure-By-Design - 1 877 373 6121

There is currently a construction project in progress in Rossland. As part of the project, fiber optic conduit will be installed up where Kirkup Ave. meets the highway. I'm not sure when the service providers would have their cable installed, but you would think it would be soon after the project.

Hope it helps